Darkthrone announce new album ‘It Beckons Us All’

Darkthrone are set to return on 26th April with their new album ‘It Beckons Us All’ via Peaceville.

“A cauldron of old and epic metal beckons thee” – Fenriz

Pioneers of a sound that changed the world. Lifelong disciples of suspense and mystery. An enigmatic duo like no other, hell-bent on haunting souls through the eternities. There are many things Darkthrone have has been called since forming in 1986 and these are but a few, having drawn from a creative well so potent and powerful it turned them into one of Norway’s biggest musical exports. Following from their debut album Soulside Journey, the next three full-lengths, often referred to as ‘the unholy three’, set the benchmark for black metal in the early 90s, though in truth they’ve never been the kind to rest on such laurels –distilling elements of vintage punk, doom, thrash and death into their own sonic fingerprint and continuing to test that equation throughout the years. It’s been quite the journey, having won cryptic pair Nocturno and Fenriz legions of loyal fans around the world. This tradition will only continue with latest masterpiece It Beckons Us All.

Set for release on Peaceville on 26th April 2024, the new music is an intense observation of the world around them – exciting and challenging the listener in equal measure, in the way only they can. Some of the riffs howl across a gallery of ice and snow while others crackle like a volcano awakening from its timeless slumber, Nocturno’s demonic barks ricocheting across the intoxicating structures almost like it’s beaming from a long-distant galaxy. As Darkthrone have shown us so many times in the past, their music is as visual as it gets – evoking tangible imagery through the medium of sound. Whether the ideas are sombre, reflective or incensed, they exist as emotional concepts you can see and feel as much as you hear. “I am having difficulties putting into words my personal feelings around the existential title It Beckons Us All, I can only hope others out there can feel the darkness that encompasses it,” muses Fenriz.

PRE-ORDERS ARE AVAILABLE HERE NOW  ( https://darkthrone.lnk.to/beckons )

An introduction from Fenriz  (https://youtube.com/shorts/FMQwAGpfxKA )

Never afraid to venture beyond the confines of the extreme metal template they were paramount in creating, there are moments on It Beckons Us All that will dazzle and surprise, as well as satisfy fans of old. Nocturno comments: “We recorded in the manner we always do, live, meaning drums and guitar, with another guitar added later. We found a new twist during this process that surely benefited this album. Fenriz did stellar clean vocals on several songs, and his way of thinking creatively made it so good. We also shared the bass work this time around. We added a lot of extra layers like solo guitars… it was just a cauldron of ideas. Instead of finding a plug-in or choir synth patch, we both recorded four vocal tracks each. Darkthrone is an ever-evolving band, as many should know by now, and this album is touching a bit into the heavy genre. I have no idea what genre we are, and have really not cared much about it, but I know for sure it’s metal.”

In that sense, It Beckons Us All is very much demonstrative of two visionaries at their world-commanding best. They know what works but more importantly they choose to grow, throwing every ounce of their hearts and souls into evolving the jaw-dropping whirlpool of noise that could only ever have come from their collective minds. There are clean guitars, clean vocals and less typical instruments thrown into the mix, but the approach, intent and ethos at the heart of their fearless artistry remain very much the same. This is music for dreamers who find themselves paralysed by the contrasting beauty and ugliness in the world surrounding them. Never ones to appease the faint-hearted, Darkthrone are as real and human as it gets.

It Beckons Us All was recorded in April and May 2023 at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo, the same location used for the Eternal Hails and Astral Fortress albumsmastered by Jack Control at Enormous Door, with artwork courtesy of Polish artist Zbigniew Bielak.(https://www.facebook.com/zbigniewmbielak  https://www.instagram.com/zbigniewmbielak ).

It Beckons Us All tracklisting

1. Howling Primitive Colonies [06:30]

2. Eon 3 [05:43]

3. Black Dawn Affiliation [06:11]

4. And In That Moment I Knew The Answer [03:17]

5. The Bird People Of Nordland [07:27]

6. The Heavy Hand [04:18]

7. The Lone Pines Of The Lost Planet [10:03]

It Beckons Us All is available on the following formats and pre-orders are live NOW! https://darkthrone.lnk.to/beckons

• Limited Edition Deluxe boxed edition: includes It Beckons Us Allon CD, an exclusive corona vinyl LP & cassette and art prints all housed in a heavy duty lift off lid box
• Limited edition ‘Fenriz’ edition LP on blue marble coloured vinyl– exclusively available through the Peaceville stores
• Limited edition ‘Nocturno Culto‘ edition LP on grey marble coloured vinyl–available through the Peaceville stores
• CD
• LP
• Digital
• Plus other limited edition coloured vinyl LPs are available in stores across the world – cream white, crystal clearpetrol and .. a collectors dream .. if you can find them!

Follow Darkthrone:

Facebook / Instagram

Check Also

Helldown: New single/ video – March Of The Damned

Commanding metallers HELLDOWN charge onwards with the release of their vicious single and video, March …

Charlotte Wessels joined by Simone Simons (Epica) for new single

Astonishing singer-songwriter Charlotte Wessels (ex-DELAIN) has joined forces with Simone Simons of Epica for her …

WOLFBRIGADE announce new album

Swedish hardcore punk icons and recent Metal Blade signees WOLFBRIGADE will release their eleventh full-length …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *