Review: RCKLSS – ‘Cynical’ EP

Use me, take anything you want..”. It’s an emotional, angst ridden few minutes, which also features some huge, soaring hooks that really do bring to mind MCR. ‘Empty Space’ is similar in feel to ‘Struggle’. The first minute or so is just Halliwell and a simple, stark guitar tone. In places, the vocals are spoken in a monotonous pitch, a seemingly deeply personal track. Words like “stark”, “melancholic” or “dark” are not what you would normally associate with the pop punk genre, and that’s perhaps where RCKLSS have the edge over other, similar bands. They do have the ability to stand toe-to-toe with anyone on the pop punk circuit. Opening track ‘Every Time’ is a glorious romp to get the crowd bouncing, as are ‘Tell You’ and ‘Sorry For Trying’, but it’s when the band get deeper and darker, that they excel. ‘Cynical’ EP is available now, more information on RCKLSS can be found here. RCKLSS are: Matty Halliwell – vocals/guitar Laurence Burkitt – bass guitar Josh Woolnough – drums Lewis Horsley – guitar Review: Oli]]>

Check Also

MASSIVE WAGONS announce new album with new single & video; UK tour in November

Today, Lancaster’s rock ruffians Massive Wagons announce their seventh studio album Earth To Grace, accompanied …

Austin Gold announce new single, video and join The Karma Effect on UK tour

Anthemic hard rock act, AUSTIN GOLD, have released a new video for their latest single …

The Struts announce UK & EU tour with Barns Courtney

Following the band’s sensational performance at Download Festival at the weekend, THE STRUTS will be …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *