The Tangent (For One) announce new studio album ‘To Follow Polaris’; launch first single ‘The North Sky’

‘To Follow Polaris’ is a new “full on” Progressive Rock album by The Tangent, set to be released on the 10th May 2024 (InsideOutMusic). That’s not necessarily a surprise, that’s what the band are known for. But at the same time, it’s something else too. As Andy jokes, playing on the Jaws strapline, he says “well this time it’s actually no personnel”.

To coincide with the announcement, a video has just been launched for the track ‘The North Sky’, albeit in an edited form. Watch it above.

In a year when members of The Tangent could be seen onstage all over the world with Steve Hackett, Soft Machine, Karnataka, David Cross, It Bites, Cyan and others, plus on recordings by those artists and The Anchoret, The Michael Dunn Project, Argos and Retreat From Moscow, it became clear that there was not going to be time to get together for anything more than one gig in April 2023.

So the band agreed that the band’s leader/main writer Andy Tillison would keep the material coming and would make an album by The Tangent entirely alone. It would still be The Tangent. Just for one.

“Besides Which” Andy says, “I’ve always wanted to do this, use what I have learned from Luke, Jonas, Steve, Theo and many other alumni and take it to final production. Now was the time!”

What transpired over the following year is in one sense an “absolutist” solo album and is entirely the work of one person in all aspects including artwork, layout, design, lyrics, composition, performance, recording, production, mixing, mastering and authoring. But in another sense it’s totally Tangent. “I could not have begun to make this record without having had the experiences of working with the band. So although the different instruments are not attempted to be played in the actual style of the normal lineup, they are inspired by the kind of things these guys do”

‘To Follow Polaris’ will be available as a Limited Deluxe Collector’s Edition CD Mediabook (including bonus track and extensive 24-page booklet, Gatefold 180g 2LP vinyl (also including bonus track), & as Digital Album. Pre-order now here:

1. The North Sky 11:36

2. A ‘Like’ In The Darkness 08:19

3. The Fine Line 08:04

4. The Anachronism 21:01

5. The Single (From A Re-Opened Time Capsule) 05:51

6. The North Sky (Radio Edit) 03:42

7. Tea At Bettys (Bonus Track) 17:32

Produced between January and November 2023, the album features Andy using his multiple keyboards system as normal, but adds to the mix his first ever released performance on Bass Guitar and his second on stick driven (electronic) drums. Add electric and acoustic guitars and electronic wind controller and this is a full band recording in every sense of the word. A recording which shows Andy’s lifelong influence by artists such as Yes, Van Der Graaf Generator, Porcupine Tree, Groove Armada, Earth Wind & Fire, Roger Waters and his bands, Return To Forever, Deep Purple, Gentle Giant, Steely Dan and any band featuring the keyboard player Dave Stewart.

Conceptually Andy claims the album is, ahem, “highly optimistic” but regular listeners to his work will anticipate correctly that this optimism will not be ill founded or over-easy and will be highly critical of obstacles to that optimism and the album will look as much into the dark as it does into the light.

The album is intended to be thought of as a regular Tangent album – but not as the future of the band. It’s everyone’s intention to make the FOURTEENTH album as The Tangent. For Five.

Photo credit: Martin Reijman

The Tangent online:



Check Also

The Struts announce UK & EU tour with Barns Courtney

Following the band’s sensational performance at Download Festival at the weekend, THE STRUTS will be …

Karmen Field: New Video – Sticky Jam

UK prog grunge quartet, KARMEN FIELD, charge on with the release of their mesmerising new …

The Radicant – the new project from ex-Anathema frontman Vincent Cavanagh / New EP & single (Kscope)

Vincent Cavanagh’s ‘The Radicant’ project showcases the adept musicianship and expressive voice that he honed …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *