EVERGREY release piano/vocal version of ‘Call Out The Dark’

‘Evergrey f*cking slay’ – Prog

Swedish metal veterans EVERGREY have released a new version of their #1 streamed track ‘Call Out The Dark’.

Listen to the emotional piano version here, recorded at EVERGREY HQ: https://youtu.be/9yu_fwBxRgs

The new single is taken from the band’s upcoming anniversary album, From Dark Discoveries to Heartless Portraits, a celebration of 30 years of Gothenburg’s finest export of darkness, due for release this Friday, 15th December, via Napalm Records.

The original version of ‘Call Out The Dark’ was released on EVERGREY’s highly acclaimed 2022 album, A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament), which entered charts worldwide at #3 in Sweden (Metal), #7 in Finland, #12 in Germany and ranked #5 on the Top New Artist Albums charts in the United States. The new, beautifully stripped-down version of the song comes with a fitting official video.

Jonas Ekdahl states: “I love how Tom and Rikard manage to take these songs and transform them into something unique and different than its original form and sound. If you manage to remove all the production elements within a song and strip everything down to its essence, and still feel that it holds up and sounds good – you know it’s a good song! That’s exactly what they have done with these piano/vocal versions in my opinion. This version of ‘Call Out The Dark’ delivers a slightly darker vibe and the lyrics stand out and reach you even more than on the original version.”


1.   Call Out The Dark (Live Version)
2.   Where August Mourns (Live Version)
3.   My Allied Ocean (Live Version)
4.   A Touch Of Blessing (Live Version)
5.   Recreation Day (Live Version)
6.   King Of Errors (Live Version)
7.   Save Us (Piano Vocal Version)
8.   Call Out The Dark (Piano Vocal Version)
9.   Blindfolded (Piano Vocal Version)
10. Midwinter Calls (Piano Vocal Version)
11.  A Silent Arc (Demo Version – Instrumental)
12.  Save Us (Demo Version – Rough Mix)
13.  Midwinter Calls (Demo Version – Rough Mix)
14.  Call Out The Dark (Demo Version – Rough Mix)
15.  Blindfolded (Demo Version – Rough Mix)

Since their very first record, 1998’s The Dark Discovery, the Swedish entity around founder, singer and guitarist Tom S. Englund – one of the most distinctive vocals in metal – has enthralled fans and critics alike with their matchless skill in merging progressive heaviness with intense melodic metal, topped by gripping lyrics that run shivers down one’s spine. To date, the band has gathered numerous worldwide chart positions with thirteen studio albums in total, and in 2022, the five-piece proved again – even after 30 years of existence – that their creativity sees no bounds with the release of the flawless A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament).

Tom S. Englund – Vocals, Guitar
Henrik Danhage – Guitar
Rikard Zander – Keyboard
Jonas Ekdahl – Drums
Johan Niemann – Bass

EVERGREY online:
Napalm Records

Photo credit: Patric Ullaeus

Check Also

LEAVES’ EYES release new single ‘In Eternity’, new album ‘Myths Of Fate’ out 22nd March on AFM Records.

March 22, 2024  will see symphonic metal vikings, LEAVES’ EYES, release their much-awaited, new studio album “Myths …

BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE & TRIVIUM – ‘The Poisoned Ascendancy Tour’

Following much speculation online, BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE and TRIVIUM have revealed details of a …

KAMELOT continues the Awaken The World Tour 2024 in Europe this October

One of the most prestigious and legendary bands in the modern symphonic metal genre, unstoppable …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *