INSOMNIUM: New single/video – ‘The Antagonist”

Finnish melodic death metal pioneers INSOMNIUM present their new single “The Antagonist” and announce the release of the “Argent Moon” EP, which will be released worldwide on September 17th, 2021 via Century Media Records.

Like the previously released singles – “The Conjurer“ and “The Reticent“ – “The Antagonist“ is one of the four songs which will be featured on this EP.

Frontman Niilo Sevänen about how the “Argent Moon” EP came to be:

“When the Corona outbreak forced us to cancel all the tours and shows, we pretty soon adopted a mindset that we better do something and keep ourselves in motion. We wanted to try how the streaming shows might work. We wanted to see what kind of new music might grow in the darkness and misery of the quarantine. And soon these vibes were channeled into songs that came to be the “Argent Moon” EP.

We wanted to try something a bit different so all the four songs on this release represent the softer side of Insomnium. The ballads and the mellow tunes. Acoustic guitars and clean vocals. The sorrow and agony that creeps into your heart when the nights grow longer. But fear not, we haven’t changed our style. Next album will be something different again. We used all the ballad ideas here so maybe it will be pure blast beats. We shall see.

The “The Antagonist” video is something new and fresh too, since we worked with director & mastermind Ville Lipiäinen for the first time ever. The result is a bit different kind of Insomnium montage.”

You can watch the videos to the previously released singles here:

“The Conjurer“
“The Reticent“

The “Argent Moon” EP will be available as Ltd. CD Digipak, LP+CD and as digital album. All physical formats can be pre-ordered HERE as of now.

The vinyl version will be available in the following colors and limitations:

Black vinyl, unlimited
Sky blue vinyl, limited to 200 copies worldwide, available at CMDistro
Silver vinyl, limited to 200 copies worldwide, only available at the official band store
Ultra clear vinyl, limited to 500 copies worldwide, only available at the official band store


Markus Hirvonen – Drums
Ville Friman – Guitars
Niilo Sevänen – Vocals & Bass
Markus Vanhala – Guitars
Jani Liimatainen – Guitars & Vocals

Check Also

Helldown: New single/ video – March Of The Damned

Commanding metallers HELLDOWN charge onwards with the release of their vicious single and video, March …

Charlotte Wessels joined by Simone Simons (Epica) for new single

Astonishing singer-songwriter Charlotte Wessels (ex-DELAIN) has joined forces with Simone Simons of Epica for her …

WOLFBRIGADE announce new album

Swedish hardcore punk icons and recent Metal Blade signees WOLFBRIGADE will release their eleventh full-length …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *