Cult Of Luna: New Album Details

On September 20th, Cult Of Luna will release their new album, A Dawn to Fear – the band’s first material under their sole name since 2013’s Vertikal 1&2. For a preview of the record, a video for the single, “The Silent Man”, can be viewed above.

  Pre-order  A Dawn to Fear here in the following formats:

– limited edition digibook 2CD

– deluxe edition artbook (2LP / 2CD 48-page hardcover artbook – beige / black marbled vinyl)

– 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)

– clear / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 400 copies)

– red / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300 copies)

– clear / black circle vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)

– clear / black splatter vinyl (EU webshop exclusive – limited to 100 copies)

– clear yellowness vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 400 copies)

– clear / brown marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300 copies)

– clear / gray marbled vinyl (US exclusive – limited to 1000 copies)

– blue / white / black marbled vinyl (US exclusive – limited to 300 copies)

* exclusive bundles with shirts, plus digital options are also available!

Building on twenty years of creating some of the most epic, emotive and inventive heavy music unleashed on the world, there is no denying that Cult Of Luna‘s A Dawn To Fear is a monster of a record. An album comprised of eight tracks running seventy-nine minutes, it embodies everything the band’s faithful have come to expect from them while covering new ground. “Going into the process, we knew the album we wanted to make, an antithesis of what we’ve done before,” says vocalist/guitarist and lead songwriter Johannes Persson. “For pretty much every album there’s been a very concrete theme. We’ve known from the start the kind of story we wanted to tell, and I didn’t want that to be the case. I’ve seen a lot of subtle changes and patterns in my own behavior and my own thinking the last couple of years, and I wanted this to be a completely spontaneous process. I just wanted to see what came out of me, and ‘A Dawn To Fear’ is the result of that.

Admitting he is perhaps still too close to the record to objectively describe the sound of A Dawn To Fear, Persson believes that it has a more organic feel to it, largely achieved through the use of organs and other acoustic instruments in place of electronic keyboards, and that it is perhaps a more melancholic collection. It is also arguably heavier than their last full-length, 2013’s Vertikal and their 2016 collaboration with Julie Christmas, Mariner, both in terms of the sheer density of the music and its tone. When it came to tracking the album, the band opted to work at Ocean Sound Recordings in Norway, which, as the name suggests, is located right by the coast, far from the nearest town. For eleven days the band lived at the studio, and enjoyed the process of constructing the record. With the finished product running to the length of a double CD, there was some discussion of cutting a track, but this did not get far. “We sat down and looked at that song list and we couldn’t. It would make it easier for us and everyone involved to cut one song, making it no problem when it comes to LPs and CDs, but we just couldn’t see the album any other way. These songs are the songs that make sense. If we cut this song or that song, it would screw up the whole dynamic of the record.” 

A Dawn to Fear track-listing

  1. The Silent Man
  2. Lay Your Head to Rest
  3. A Dawn to Fear
  4. Nightwalkers
  5. Lights on the Hill
  6. We Feel the End
  7. Inland Rain
  8. The Fall

Cult Of Luna tour dates

Aug. 7 – Brutal Assault Festival – Jaromer, Czech Republic Aug. 9 – Øya Festival – Oslo, Norway Aug. 16 – Rock Altitude – Le Locle, Switzerland Aug. 17 – Arctangent Festival – Bristol, UK Oct. 11 – Väven – Umeå, Sweden

Oct. 14 – Nosturi – Helsinki, Finland

Oct. 16 – TBA

Oct. 17 – Pumpehuset – Copenhagen, Denmark

Oct. 18 – Pustervik – Gothenburg, Sweden

Oct. 19 – Vasateatern – Stockholm, Sweden

Nov. 24 – Festsaal Kreuzberg – Berlin, Germany *

Nov. 25 – Stollwerck – Cologne, Germany *

Nov. 26 – Melkweg Max – Amsterdam, Netherlands

Nov. 27 – Trix – Antwerp, Belgium

Nov 28 – Stylus – Leeds, UK

Nov 29 – Electric Ballroom – London, UK

Nov. 30 – Le Trianon – Paris, France *

Dec. 1 – TBA

Dec. 3 – Alcatraz – Milan, Italy

Dec. 4 – Kino Siska – Ljubljana, Slovenia *

Dec. 5 – Technikum – Munich, Germany *

Dec. 6 – Arena – Vienna, Austria *

Dec. 7 – Praha – Palác Akropolis

Dec. 8 – Progresja – Warsaw, Poland

*=w/ A.A Williams

Cult Of Luna online:]]>

Check Also

Helldown: New single/ video – March Of The Damned

Commanding metallers HELLDOWN charge onwards with the release of their vicious single and video, March …

Charlotte Wessels joined by Simone Simons (Epica) for new single

Astonishing singer-songwriter Charlotte Wessels (ex-DELAIN) has joined forces with Simone Simons of Epica for her …

WOLFBRIGADE announce new album

Swedish hardcore punk icons and recent Metal Blade signees WOLFBRIGADE will release their eleventh full-length …