Black Pistol FireBlack Pistol Fire are set to release the physical versions of their latest album ‘Look Alive’ on February 19th, the digital version is available now via Black Hill Records.

“Truly immense and perfectly executed. Sets a marker to enhance their growing reputation around the world”

“Has an indie rock grandiosity that shines through like never before”

“Incredibly cohesive. A special record with real crossover potential”

“An infectious album packed full of brilliant rock n roll tracks”

“A gorgeous and rich tapestry from two musicians who know what they want and exactly how to do it”

“Black Pistol Fire haven’t forgotten about the importance of a killer guitar sound. Top-notch”

Black Pistol Fire is the Austin, Texas-based duo of vocalist/guitarist Kevin McKeown and drummer/bass synth player Eric Owen. Originally from Toronto, they have spent almost a decade building a dedicated fanbase and refining their singular two-man approach, outfitting their explosive, impassioned rock n roll with a soundscape that has become more expansive and cinematic over time.

BPF have spent the last year drip-feeding a handful of singles that include the bluesy, slow-burning powerhouse ‘Hope In Hell’, the doomy, stomping ‘Black Halo’, the R&B-inflected ‘Temper Temper’ and the coiled, psychedelia-laced ‘Level’ (their current UK single). These are all included on ‘Look Alive’, their brand new album that has just been released digitally with LP and CD formats to follow on 19th February. Helmed by the duo with co-producer/engineer Jacob Sciba (Gary Clark Jr, Gov’t Mule, Warren Haynes) and mixer Vance Powell (White Stripes, Raconteurs, Chris Stapleton), it reflects listening habits and influences that range from Chuck Berry to Nirvana, and Arctic Monkeys to G-Funk.

Black Pistol Fire‘Look Alive’ has been receiving rave reviews and is being recognised for its far-reaching sonic landscape. Credit this in part to BPF’s natural progression. “When we first started out I had one guitar and one guitar pedal, and Eric had his drums and a green Dodge Neon – that was it,” says McKeown. “So, experimentation was just not an option.” Since then, things have changed. McKeown’s pedal collection – and the resulting range of sounds he is capable of producing with it – is an awe-inspiring thing, for one, while Owen has moved beyond a mere acoustic kit to add bass synth, electronic drums and other colours to the mix.

BPF released five albums between 2012 and 2017 that contain songs streamed in their millions, with ‘Suffocation Blues’ from their self-titled 2015 debut earning 25 million spins on Spotify alone. They are also revered for their incendiary live shows that are a blend of garage punk and blues rock and have wowed crowds from the smallest, sweatiest out-of-the-way backwaters to the massive stages of festivals like Lollapalooza, bringing their blistering, brain-expanding rock n roll to audiences both devoted and unsuspecting and laying it all on the line, every single time. They have toured the UK twice, most recently in 2018 with The Fratellis, with National Rock Review proclaiming BPF as “arguably one of the most exciting acts we have come across this year.”

1 Look Alive
2 Pick Your Poison
3 Holdin’ Up
4 Never Enough
5 Wildfire
6 Hope In Hell
7 Black Halo
8 Temper. Temper
9 Level
10 Always On My Mind
11 Beyond The Blue

Kevin McKeown – vocals, guitar
Eric Owen – drums, bass synth

Check Also

Review: Ian Moss – King Tuts, Glasgow

For two nights only, the UK was treated to a state visit from bona fide …

Sons of Liberty: New single – ‘Tertulia Time’

Sons of Liberty bring the party with…‘Tertulia Time’. The Sound of Summer 2024 releases on …

Legendary Guitarist Steve Cropper Announces New Album ‘Friendlytown’

Not many people start new bands in their 80s, but legendary guitarist, producer, and songwriter Steve …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *